Quick User Guide Sony PX 470
Introduction
This page contains a quick user guide for the Sony PX 470 voice recorder.
Quick User Guide
Powering the Device
The device is powered by two AAA batteries. The device can be turned on by holding the power slide to the right for approximately 1 second. The device can't be turned off in the same way.
Recording
A recording can be started by simply pressing the Rec/Pause button (top right button with the red circle on it). It can subsequently be paused by pressing the same button again, or stopped by pressing the Stop button (top left button with the white square).
Replaying recordings
Recordings can be found for replay in one of two ways.
By simply pressing the play button (round button with the triangle in the middle of the device), the most recent recording will be played.
If you want to select the file you want to replay, you first need to go to the home screen. This screen can be reached by pressing the back button (bottom left) until you reach a screen with icons representing the different modes. Selecting recorded files will allow you to find and replay a specific recording.
In order to head back to the recording screen, head back to the home screen, and then select record.
Exporting recordings
Recordings can be exported by using the device's USB interface. This becomes available by using the slider on the bottom of the device to slide out the USB port.
Connecting the device to a computer in this way allows it to be used in similar fashion to an ordinary USB stick. The default storage location for recording files is REC_FILE/FOLDER01.
Formatting the device
NOTE: Formatting the device will result in the loss of all data that is currently stored on it. Only do this after exporting all (relevant) data to another storage space.
Formatting the device is mandatory before you return the recorder back to SOLO. This will wipe all data as required by Data management plan.
To format the recorder:
- Navigate to the home screen (press the back button until you reach a screen with multiple icons)
- Select settings
- Select Common Settings
- Select Reset / Format
- Select Reset All Settings. Choose Yes.
- Select Format Built-in-Memory. Choose Yes.